Home / Entertainment / Flying Lotus, FKA Twigs, Vince Clarke and others win at the 2020 AIM Awards

Flying Lotus, FKA Twigs, Vince Clarke and others win at the 2020 AIM Awards

Electronic artist Flying Lotus, singer and songwriter FKA twigs, Anglo-Indian jazz drummer Sarathy Korwar and synth-pop master Vince Clarke were among the big winners of the indie community gathered on Wednesday evening (12 August) for the tenth edition of the AIM Independent Music Awards, held virtually for the first time.

Flying Lotus captured best indie track (for “More” with Anderson .Paak) and Korwar’s Others on the way brought out the best independent album.

“It’s a real blessing to be able to receive an award and be recognized in these times when they make us feel like our work isn’t essential and what we do is just, whatever,”

; said Flying Lotus (real name Steven Ellison). “So, thanks for the reminder that what we do is very important.”

Even that night, the FKA twigs packed better [difficult] second album for her critically acclaimed Maddalena, which peaked at number 21 on the official UK album chart last November, and Moses Boyd garnered independent accolades in the UK.

One of the most exciting moments was when Erasure gathered on stage for a premiere of their new single “Nerves of Steel”, a fitting moment when songwriter and keyboardist Vince Clarke picked up the Special Recognition Award, a new category . Clarke was celebrated for his work on Erasure, Yazoo and Hall of Famers Depeche Mode and “his outstanding contribution to the synth-pop field,” organizers say.

In the industry award categories, Helen Smith, executive chair of the lobbying organization of independent music companies IMPALA, was named “Indie Champion” and late great drummer Tony Allen was posthumously honored for outstanding contribution to the music award.

Allen’s career was celebrated with a performance with Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn, and a separate tribute curated by Ezra Collective’s Femi Koleoso.

A pioneer of the afrobeat drummer, Allen died on April 30 in Paris at the age of 79, leaving a considerable legacy.

The Nigerian artist was well known for his work with Fela Kuti and, later, with Albarn’s project The Good, The Bad & The Queen, the French electronic duo Air and others.

At the time of his death, Brian Eno praised Allen as “possibly the greatest drummer who ever lived”, while Flea of ​​the Red Hot Chili Peppers declared him “one of the greatest drummers to ever walk this earth”.

As part of the celebration of Allen’s life and work, Koleoso curated a special medley by bringing together the likes of Nubya Garcia, Mutale Chashi, Tobi Adenaike, Elias Atkinson, Richie Seivwright, Deschanel Gordon and Junior Alli.

Founded in Britain in 2011, the AIM Independent Music Awards celebrate the brightest, best and most innovators of the independent music scene.

AIM Independent Music Awards Winners and Nominees:

Independent innovation in the UK in association with YouTube Music

Digga D
Fontaines D.C.
Moses Boyd (winner)

Best creative packaging in association with Signature Brew

Digga D – Double Tap Diaries (winner)
Hania Rani – “Esja” sheet music book
Motörhead – 1979
Sophie – Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides Non-Stop Remix album
Moses Boyd – Dark Matter LP (Dinked Edition)

Special recognition award in association with Fuga – Vince Clarke (winner)

Indie champion in association with MCPS – Helen Smith (WINNER)

Best small label in association with key production

Bedroom indie
Records Edition
Female culture
Speedy Wunderground (winner)

Best Independent Remix associated with Designscene

Lafawndah – Tourist X Nídia Rework (WINNER)
King Of The Rollers – You Got Me (S.P.Y. Remix)
Makaya Mccraven – Gil Scott-Heron – We are new again
Apparat – Outlier (Solomun Remix)
Marie Davidson – Work It (Soulwax Remix)

One to watch in association with Bbc Music Presentation

Arlo Parks (winner)
Blanco White
Greentea Peng
The crazy life

Best independent video in association with Vevo

Black Puma – Colors
Bombay Bicycle Club – Eat, Sleep, Wake Up (Nothing else)
Flying Lotus – Black Balloons Reprise (Ft. Denzel Curry)
Greentea Peng – Mr. Sun (Miss Da Sun)
The Howl & The Hum – The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island (WINNER)
Zebra Katz – Moor

Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music – AJ Tracey (winner)

Best [Difficult] Second album in association with adequate music

Floating Points – Crush
Fka twigs – Magdalene (WINNER)
Joe Armon Jones – Turn To Clear View
Life – an image of good health
Moses Sumney – Græ

International innovation in association with Deezer

Floating points
Hania Rani
Yaeji (winner)

Pioneer Award in association with Evoke Studios – Little Simz (winner)

PPL Award for the new most played independent artist

Freya Ridings (winner)
Fontaines D.C.
Jade Bird

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Brooke Bentham – Everyday Nothing
Everything is recorded – Friday Forever
Kidjo Ojua – The Mixtape
Kim Gordon – No home records
Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter
Moses Boyd – Dark matter
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
The ninth wave – Childhood
Phoenix Da Icefire and Husky Brown – Panacea
Sarathy Korwar – More To Come (WINNER)

Best Live Act in association with creative technology

Ayanna Witter-Johnson
Five Finger Death Punch (winner)
Red Rum Club
The Reytons
The darkness

Best independent song in association with Facebook

AJ Tracey – Dinner Guest (Ft. Mostack)
Digga D – No diet
Flying Lotus – Other (Ft. Anderson .Paak) (winner)
King Krule – Alone, omen 3
Lauv – Modern solitude
I’m sorry, 24 hours a day
Squid – Mud
Sudan Archives – Confessions
Tony Allen and Hugh Masekela – We’ve Landed
Yves Tumor – Gospel For A New Century

Best independent label in association with [PIAS]

Brownswood Records
Good soldier
Jazz Re: Refreshed (Winner)
Two steps
Young Turks

Outstanding contribution to music in association with Merlin – Tony Allen (winner)

Source link