Home / Science / SpaceX Crew Dragon transports NASA astronauts to depart from the space station today. How to watch it live.

SpaceX Crew Dragon transports NASA astronauts to depart from the space station today. How to watch it live.



SpaceX by Crew Dragon’s first capsule to transport NASA astronauts will detach from the International Space Station tonight (August 1), preparing the stage for a historic weekend breakdown.

The SpaceX Crew Dragon Endeavor capsule is scheduled to disengage from the station tonight at 19:34 EDT (2334 GMT) as its Demo-2 test flight enters the final phase. The spaceship is expected to return to Earth with NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley on Sunday (August 2).

Behnken and Hurley are flying on SpaceX’s first manned space flight. They launched at the station on May 30 and are expected to spend just under a day in orbit before returning to Earth on Sunday afternoon, NASA officials said.

can watch the release of SpaceX live here and on the Space.com homepage, courtesy of NASA TV. You can also watch it directly from NASA here. The NASA webcast will begin at 5:15 pm EDT (2115 GMT) tonight, but you can start getting involved in the action already at 9:10 EDT (1310 GMT) this morning with the SpaceX Dragon Demo-2 farewell ceremony.

Full coverage: The historic test flight of SpaceX astronaut Demo-2 Crew Dragon

Behnken and Hurley, or “Bob and Doug”, having been affectionately nicknamed by the public, were launched at the space station on May 30 as part of the historic manned mission in SpaceX space. The launch, which is part of NASA’s Commercial Crew Program, also marks the first manned commercial mission for NASA.

SpaceX’s Demo-2 mission will conclude with the return of the crew to Earth, which will be the first slaughter in the United States in almost 45 years. The veteran pair of astronauts is about to crash into the Gulf of Mexico, off the coast of Panama City, Florida, at one of the seven options available, at 2.42pm EDT (1842 GMT) if the weather conditions are favorable.

This may prove difficult, as the National Oceanic and Atmospher Administration (NOAA) National Hurricane Center is continuing on to hurricane Isais, which is currently headed for Florida.

NASA officials have said they want to make a final decision on whether to drop the hook about six hours before the event takes place. That will arrive around 1:30 pm. EDT (1730 GMT). The target landing site may also change depending on weather conditions, they added.

reported: The historic SpaceX Demo-2 manned test flight in photos

A final landing site and crash delay will be decided, based on a number of key factors including wind speed, slope of ocean waves, rain, lightning, availability of nearby recovery helicopters , the ship’s pitch and roll, the visible ceiling and general visibility.

Visit Space.com today for full coverage of the Crew Dragon landing.

Email Chelsea Gohd to cgohd@space.com or follow her on Twitter @chelsea_gohd. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.


Source link